The History of the Dublin North Region (DNR)
Dublin North Region was born in February 1989 when the Dublin Region was divided into two entities to be known as ‘Dublin South Region’ and ‘Dublin North Region’. All the Clubs on the North Side of the Liffey were transferred into D.N.R, along with the Club in Trinity College.
The inaugural meeting of D.N.R was held in the Bankers Bridge Club on June 9th 1989 when Sean Dillon (R.I.P.) was elected President. Sadly, both the first Secretary - Marie Cummins and the first Treasurer - Derek Stokes are also deceased. Marie gave very devoted service to the Region for many years as Regional Secretary and became President of the C.B.A.I. in 1998.
The first Intermediate Secretary - Madge Kinahan is alive and well and living in Malahide. She was President of D.N.R. in 2001. She is a member of Malahide Bridge Club and is a great supporter of Regional Events.
Nora Foley followed Marie Cummins as Hon. Sec. for several years until Norma Madden took over in 1994. The still thriving D.N.R. League was Nora's idea. It was sponsored for several years by Aer Ríanta. It is now generously sponsored by Kirwans Funeral Directors and is known as the ‘Kirwans League’.
Neil Burke was the next Secretary followed by Bert McKay, Teriona Rogan, Kay McDonald and Mary Breen, who took over in 2016. Bernadette Uí Obáin served in an interm role for 2017/2018. Over the years, the Region's finances were in the capable hands of George Kearns, Danny Doona, Neil Burke, Phil Brohoon, Teriona Rogan and now Kay McDonald. Before the Intermediate Committee was abolished by the C.B.A.I. Mary Kelly-Rogers, Jacki Furey and Mary Dillon all did a stint as Intermediate Secretary.
Mary Kelly-Rogers represented the Region as CBAI President in 2010/2011.
When the old Dublin Region split, the existing trophies were divided between the 2 new regions. D.N.R. inherited the Moran Cup for Intermediate Pairs and the Purcell Cup for Intermediate Teams. The McLoughlin Cup, which was last awarded in 2007, was reinstated as a one-session event for Intermediate B pairs, starting in the 2013-14 season. County Development Officers introduced a new Novice Teams event in 2012. The following year, Malahide Regional Bridge Club kindly donated ‘The Paddy English Trophy’ for this competition, in acknowledgement of Paddy’s contribution to bridge in the Region. A new ‘Pairs Competition’ was introduced in 2017, to cater for Intermediate A2 grade. The trophy for winners of this event was attributed to Norma Madden, DNR President Emeritus.
The Presidency of the Region rotates between the Clubs - each Club nominating a President for one year. The majority of past presidents remain active in the region. We remember the deceased past Presidents, Sean Dillon, Marie Cummins and Anna Menton, for their great contribution to bridge in the Region.
Two years after the Region was formed it was decided that D.N.R. would take over the running of the ailing Dublin Congress, which was losing money and was looking for a new home. Dublin South Region had no interest in running it so the first Dublin North Festival was run in Portmarnock Sports and Leisure Centre in 1991. It subsequently moved to the G.A.A. Club in Collins Ave, to the Regency Hotel in Whitehall, the Great Southern Hotel at the Airport and finally to A.L.S.A.A. by the Airport. In 2004 Gerry and Eileen Murtagh presented a magnificent trophy for the Congress Teams.
In spite of generous sponsorship from many of the Clubs in D.N.R. the Festival again ran into financial difficulties in 2003, 2004 and 2005, so it was decided not to hold a Festival in 2006.
The boundaries of Dublin North were changed with effect from Sept 2008. The Region lost Castleknock, Leixlip, Navan Road, St Brigid’s, Coolmine, Cnúcha and Westmanstown to the new Mid-Leinster region.
The M50 Tournament – an inter-regional club teams’ championship between the four Regions bordering the M50 – Dublin North, Dublin South, Eastern, and Mid-Leinster was established in 2011. This event was then the beneficiary of the impressive ‘Gerry Murtagh Trophy’, which Dublin North Region won in 2012 and again in 2013.
The success of the M50 Tournament, led to the establishment of the Dublin Summer Congress in July 2015. This Congress has proved hugely successful to date and we look forward to many successful ones in the future.

Updated by Mary Reid